Hudson Mohawke scores Watch_Dogs 2

Music is an integral part of setting the tone for a video game, so choosing the right composer is an important job. Whether it’s Austin Wintory’s chamber-music inspired Assassin’s Creed Syndicate soundtrackPower Glove’s 80s-tinged work on the Blood Dragon games, or Christoph Héral and Billy Martin’s tracks for the Rayman series – it’s hard to imagine the games without them.

To get the right sound for Watch Dogs 2 the team called upon the skills of Glaswegian DJ and super-producer Hudson Mohawke.

Hudson has been producing music since his early teens and has become the go-to producer for the biggest names in music, including Kanye West, Drake, John Legend, Travis Scott, Future, Lil Wayne, Young Thug, Pusha T, Tinashe, Frank Ocean and Björk.

The Watch Dogs 2 soundtrack draws on a sound that has become synonymous with Hudson Mohawke, harking back to his earlier work fusing electronics and hip-hop, while hinting toward his love of Japanese synth legend Isao Tomita, film maker and composer John Carpenter and the legendary soundtracks of Vangelis.

“Working on this soundtrack was a really exciting and refreshing prospect for me, especially considering the themes in the game are things I’m also passionate about,” said Hudson. “When Ubisoft approached me to work alongside them in developing the game’s sounds, I knew I wanted to use the palette of some cult sci-fi soundtracks while also incorporating my own style. It’s been a real learning experience, and even a challenge at some points, but very rewarding in terms of expressing myself creatively and allowing me to reach new audiences with my music without needing a ‘genre’ stamp.”

Ded Sec - Watch Dogs 2 OST - Hudson Mohawke

To stream Shanghaied, the first track released from the album, go to your streaming platform of choice: Spotify, Apple Music, Bleep or Google Play.

The Watch Dogs 2 official soundtrack is released worldwide on Warp Records, November 11th.  Here’s the full track list:

  1. Shanghaied – 3:53
  2. Burning Desire (Hacker) – 1:22
  3. W4tched (Cinema) – 1:06
  4. Haum Sweet Haum – 4:00
  5. Cyber Driver – 3:21
  6. Amethyst – 3:38
  7. Play N Go – 3:51
  8. Eye For An Eye (Reprise) – 1:39
  9. Cyber Driver (Opera) – 2:13
  10. Citrus – 1:04
  11. Balance – 0:54
  12. Burning Desire – 3:04
  13. Eye For An Eye – 4:10
  14. Robot (Finale) – 3:01
  15. Watch Dogs Theme – 3:55
  16. The Motherload – 4:35

Watch Dogs 2 arrives on PS4 and Xbox One on November 15th, and PC on November 29th. We’ll have more on the game’s music in the coming weeks!

Watch_dogs 2

Watch_dogs 2

Release date — November 15th, 2016
Developer — Ubisoft Montreal
PEGI 18+
Play as Marcus Holloway, a brilliant young hacker living in the birthplace of the tech revolution, the San Francisco Bay Area. Team up with Dedsec, a notorious group of hackers, and expose the hidden dangers of ctOS 2.0, which, in the hands of corrupt corporations, is being wrongfully used to monitor and manipulate citizens on a massive scale. Using the skills and anonymity of hackers, ignite the rebel in you and break the rules - for the lulz, for what's right, and most importantly, because you can.
The Author

Phil is so incredibly old that his earliest gaming memories involve those late-70s TV Pong clone machines made by Binatone, typing BASIC games into the one-piece keyboard of a Sinclair ZX80 from magazine listings, and the static burble of Commodore 64 tape loading. He does Marketing things in Ubisoft's Guildford office. He's been at the company for 20 years. The numpty.