The Division – Last Stand Expansion: What You Need to Know

The Division development team revealed the first details for both Last Stand and the next major update for the game. There’s a lot to digest, so let’s jump right into some Last Stand details:

It’s a PvP and PvE Activity
Last Stand is a new competitive mode that takes place in an instanced version of the Dark Zone, separate from the main game population. It pits two teams of eight agents against each other in a fight to control terminals and upload crucial data before the other team can do the same. Fighting with enemy agents will be a big part of the conflict, so Last Stand does not include traditional Dark Zone mechanics like being labeled a Rogue agent or losing XP and currency upon death.

However, it’s not just the enemy teams you need to worry about. Last Stand maps feature NPCs that will guard key control points, with stronger foes protecting central control points. If you kill these NPCs, you can earn SHD tech, which can then be spent at boost stations to unlock a variety of temporary bonuses and aid your team, like turrets for your base, faster data upload speeds, or a pulse to alert you when enemies are too close to your base. These stations will only be available after certain match criteria are met, so plan accordingly, and remember the enemy has access to the same boosts.

It takes place in the Dark Zone, but it’s not the same Dark Zone
The Dark Zone is split into four different maps for Last Stand, which include the new areas (DZ 7-9) unlocked with the free update 1.6. Each map has three locations – A, B, and C – that players will need to control, or retake from the opposing team, to begin data transfers. If you successfully capture a terminal, a spawn relay will activate and make it possible for you to automatically spawn close to teammates.

And because this is a Dark Zone activity, matchmaking functions much in the same way by taking your gear score into account. But it also looks at your overall performance to match you with similarly skilled players. If you’re playing with a group of friends, the server will compile all of the recent performance data of you and your teammates before finding an opponent.

What happens if you win?
Last Stand features a progression system where you can earn experience and make your way up to a maximum level of 40. Each time you gain a rank, you’ll get access to a sealed cache. Also, while you make your way up the ranks, you’ll earn vanity items from two unique sets and two sets of weapon skins. When you hit 40, you’ll continue to earn these rewards, and unlike Dark Zone ranks, you can never lose Last Stand rank.

Head over to the official site for more details on Last Stand or check out our previous coverage of The Division:

Stephen Gaghan to Write and Direct ‘The Division’ Film

The Division – Don’t Fear the Dark Zone

The Division Breaks Ubisoft Records

Tom Clancy's The Divison

Tom Clancy's The Division

Release date — March 8, 2016
Developer — Massive Entertainment
A devastating pandemic sweeps through New York City, and one by one, basic services fail. In only days, without food or water, society collapses into chaos. The Division, a classified unit of self-supported tactical agents, is activated. Leading seemingly ordinary lives among us, Division agents are trained to operate independently in order to save society. When society falls, your mission begins.

ESRB Rating: Mature
The Author

Giancarlo Varanini picked up a controller at the age of four and hasn't put it down since. This makes things like eating hamburgers or driving a vehicle incredibly problematic. You might remember his previous work from great media outlets such as GameSpot, EGM, Official US PlayStation Magazine, Nintendo Power, and others. Follow him on Twitter: @gvaranini